Skip to content

Where I buy my food now

February 16, 2011

I just want to set out where I currently buy my food from in the hope this will help me to see where I can change to buying my food from independent shops. So here goes, in no particular order:

Bread – homemade, flour direct from Shipton Mill, Salt from South Birmingham Food Co-op, water from my tap.

Milk – mainly from the milkman (dairy crest), occasionally from the Murco garage or co-op.

Butter – usually Co-op or Sainsbury’s

Yoghurt – homemade or Co-op/Sainsbury’s

Eggs – homemade (we have chickens), J Ward greengrocer in Stirchley or Leverton and Halls in Bournville

Cheese – Leverton and Halls, Capeling and Co in Kings Heath, or supermarket

Sugar – usually Co-op or Sainsbury’s

Spices – usually Ali’s in Kings Heath or other Asian grocer

Fruit – J Ward greengrocers in Stirchley

Veg – Farm Fresh Organics delivery box, J Ward greengrocers in Stirchley, & Leverton and Hall’s in Bournville.

Tea – Anderson and Hill in city centre or a supermarket

Coffee – South Birmingham Food Co-op, Leverton and Halls, or supermarket

Store cupboard stuff (pasta, rice, cous cous, tinned tomatoes, chickpeas, breakfast cereals, oats, lentils) – South Birmingham Food Co-op, Farm Fresh Organics delivery box, or supermarket

Crackers – supermarket

Booze – Stirchley Wines and Spirits or supermarket

Cooking oils – usually supermarket

Meat and Fish – Rossiters butchers, Bournville

Fruit juice and other drinks – Milkman or Farm Fresh Organics

Preserves and condiments – homemade, farmers markets, supermarket, Thyme Out in Kings Heath, Leverton and Halls.

Non-food stuff relating to cooking (clingfilm, foil, anti-bac spray) – almost always supermarket.

 

That’s all I can think of at the moment, but I will update as and when I think of more stuff we eat. I think I’m doing pretty well already and using a good selection of independent food shops/sources, but the word supermarket is cropping up a bit more than I hoped or expected. The good news is that for most of the stuff I already have an alternative, I just need to be a bit more organised. I’m most worried about butter – I use organic unsalted a lot for cooking, and haven’t seen that in an independent shop ever – anybody got any suggestions?

The next post will mark my first week without supermarkets – wish me luck!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 4:39 PM

    You can buy home-made salted and unsalted butter from Phil @ Lightwood Cheese. He goes to Harborne and Moseley farmers markets. Although his churn had broken last month!

    Also you can make butter from cream!

    Get a cow?

  2. February 22, 2011 4:49 PM

    Yes I love their butter, but what with working most Saturdays it’s hard to get to Farmers Markets. My milk man does it, but it’s only country life stuff which isn’t great.

  3. February 23, 2011 11:15 AM

    What about Birmingham Markets? Got to be the cheapest and freshest place for your meat, fish, cheese, veg etc.. etc.. , I think you could just about subsist on market produce alone, but maybe that’s another blog entirely?

    • February 23, 2011 11:24 AM

      Yeah I really should use the bullring markets more but I hardly ever go into town so it would be a special trip. I do head there when i fancy a particular fish though as Rossiters has a fairly limited range, and only gets it in fresh on a Friday.

Leave a Reply

