Skip to content

The breakfast problem.

February 22, 2011

I love breakfast, and why wouldn’t I, it’s normally my first waking thought of the day. I almost always have great bread to hand, homemade preserves, porridge oats, homemade yoghurt, eggs laid in the back garden, and plenty of fruit – plenty of options for breakfast you’d think. I have porridge most days for about 6 months of the year, on the weekends we have scrambled egg on toast, but the rest of the time I succumb to the ubiquitous flakes of corn. I don’t really know why, I don’t even like them, if I actually stop to think about eating them they taste like sweetened cardboard. Perhaps that’s the problem, when I’m bleary-eyed pre-coffee of a rushed-morning, and I reach for the convenient flakes, my brain isn’t really engaged with what I’m eating, I just feel like I have a hole that needs filling. I find this difficult, but for Jane who doesn’t like porridge, weekday breakfast is an inevitable daily bore. As we often buy the large packs of corn flakes from either Co-op or Sainsbury’s, this is the first major hurdle we’re going to have to address. Yes we can get smaller packs from corner shops etc, but Kellogs is the only choice and they’re expensive in comparison.

My first attempt then is going to be to re-double my efforts in home yoghurt production and make sure we always have a jar of the good stuff at hand, and to make an interesting fruit salad that will keep in the fridge for a few days at a time, hopefully improving in flavour and not going too soggy. Later in the year I’ll try and get back into the swing of home muesli making. Here’s batch one:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 11:50 AM

    Yoghurt and museli all the way 😉

    We are going to try making granola too: http://www.deliciousmagazine.co.uk/articles/how-to-make-granola

    If you don’t buy cornflakes you won’t miss em that’s for sure…

  2. February 23, 2011 11:57 AM

    Yeah my sister makes an awesome granola, must get that recipe off her. I think it’s got half a sack of sugar in it though…

  3. Tim Parsons permalink
    February 24, 2011 5:15 PM

    Try this one;
    http://www.redonline.co.uk/food/stylish-entertaining/brunch/toasted-muesli
    I’ll bring you my favourite, a Bill Granger recipe, toasted nuts and seeds, with a sample when I next collect!
    TGP x

Leave a Reply

